Summer Social Volleyball

Information, Terms & Conditions

Download the full terms & conditions, and tournament information here. This includes rules, playing dates, and other important information.


This recreational volleyball competition is a six aside indoor game, run by Pioneer Volleyball Club Incorporated and played on Thursday evenings at Pioneer Leisure Centre. Teams may be mixed or single sex. The emphasis is on fun and enjoyment for all! We cater for anyone from experienced players to those wishing to learn, as the competition is structured according to skill level. Remember that this is recreational volleyball and that you’re not playing for the “Championship of the world as we know it”. We expect you to play your volleyball with an appropriate attitude ie good, positive and healthy. Cheating will not be tolerated.


There are 17 matches, 6 before Christmas, then resuming after the holiday break in late January to finish in March 2018. Games are 1 hour long from 6:30pm, 7:30pm or 8:30pm. Your team will play at a different time each week. If you have a 6:30 pm game, please help the Pioneer Leisure Centre staff put up the nets, and help take them down if you have the late game. We are again offering a free coaching night to Summer Volleyball players again on 5th October. The game on the first playing night, 19th October (TBC), will be a grading game, where teams are graded according to their ability, at the sole discretion of the organisers, and then placed into a division of six teams. The first match of Round 1 commences the following Thursday. You will play 3 rounds each of 5 games. The season finishes with a finals night at the end of March 2018. All teams play on this night.

Team entry

As per last year we are using the all-inclusive model used by CVA. Please contact us if you cannot comply with the requirements of paying all your fees at the time of entry. The entry fee for 2017/18 is $650.00 incl GST per team if the team is registered and paid in full before 30th September 2017. For registered teams that have not paid in full by this date the fee will be $750 incl GST, with the same applying for teams that register after 1st October 2017. Entries are limited to the first 36 fully paid up teams. Failure to meet these terms may result in your team entry being rejected.

What if I don’t have a team?

Individual players wishing to play who are not able to put together their own team should contact us too. We may be able to put you in contact with others so that you can form your own team.

Got a question?

Further info can be obtained from Richard Gillespie, by:

  • email
  • phone 027 431 7994 cell or
  • phone 325 9519 business hours.

We welcome any suggestions that you may wish to make about the competition. After all, it’s all about making you happy by providing you with something that you’re happy with!

Keep up-to-date on Facebook

AGM this Monday!!

Just a reminder that the club AGM will be this coming Monday 30th April at 7pm at Pioneer Stadium. This will be at the start of the training for all the senior club teams, so if players and coaches from those teams can stay at the front courts for putting shoes on etc and be part of the meeting that would be great. Those not training from development teams including parents and coaches are also welcome to attend.

We are always looking for more people keen to get involved in running our ever growing club, so if interested in joining the committee, feel free to message us if you want to know more. Unfortunately after years of service in many roles, our current secretary Nicola is stepping down due to other commitments, so we will have a vacancy for this important role.

See you all then, regards Rob
... See MoreSee Less

View on Facebook

Congrats to Panthers Senior Womens member Jade Jenkins who is off to Iowa to continue her Volleyball career as a Tiger, all the best Jade! ... See MoreSee Less

View on Facebook

Pioneer Women’s teams announcement

Congrats to the following players selected in our top women’s teams for the 2018 season;

Women’s A
Carissa Gillies
Jade Jenkins
Mia Jenkins
Kelsey Randrup
Samantha Cording
Liz Hanna
Mia Fanselow
Loveday Mossman-Catchpole
Mia Thomson
Kayla Placid
Malia Manoa

Mark Termeer

Women’s B team:
Kelsey Butland
Cleo Schurink
Bianca Hunter
Xoe Tay
Louise Vryenhoek
Maisie Cropley
Brylie Gray
Michelle Yap
Penny Burridge
Shelly Wyatt
Kelsey Whiting
Bridget Allan

Matt Stevens, Chris Sterling

Women’s C team:
Olivia Dennis
Charlotte Skelton
Georgina Blane
Sam Read
Alex Cording
Sarah Hintz
Emily Mclaughlin
Kelsey Angus
Meg Rennie

Sam Cording
... See MoreSee Less

View on Facebook